

2013 Celebrating Our History:



The Board of Directors of the **National Coalition on Black Civic Participation** request the pleasure of your company at the 16th Annual Spirit of Democracy Awards Dinner Thursday, October 3, 2013

Renaissance Washington DC Hotel 999 Ninth Street, NW Washington, DC

6:00 pm Reception 7:00 pm Dinner **Business Attire** 

# **2013 Spirit of Democracy Honorees**

# Chairman's Leadership Circle



Arlene Holt- Baker **Executive Vice President** AFI-CIO



The Honorable Susan E. Rice Former UN Ambassador National Security Advisor, Obama Administration



**Brent Wilkes Executive Director** League of United Latin American Citizens

# State Affiliates of the Year



Salandra Benton Convener Florida Coalition on Black Civic Participation



Pierrette "Petee" Talley Convener Ohio Unity Coalition

# **Spirit '13 Host Committee**

#### **General Chair**

# Tanya Leah Lombard Assistant Vice President, Public Affairs AT&T

#### Co-Chair

# **Emilio Gonzalez** Vice President, Strategic Alliances Verizon Communications

#### Members

**Joyce Brayboy** Vice President of Government Affairs Goldman Sachs

**Chaka Burgess**Director, Global Government Affairs
AMGEN

**Howie Hodges** Vice President, External Affairs Time Warner Cable

**Gerald Hudson** International Executive Vice President Service Employees International Union

#### Dorothy Jackson, Esq. Vice President

American Gaming Association

Roger Johnson Director, Community Partnerships The Coca-Cola Company

# Jeanine Liburd

Executive Vice President BET Networks

## **Antonio Williams**

Director, Government Affairs Comcast

# **Board Member** of the Year



Kevin M. Parker Managing Director Capitol Consulting Group, LLC

# Ruby C. Pulliam Servant Leadership & Community Service Award



Karma Cottman **Executive Director** DC Coalition Against Domestic Violence

# **CELEBRITY** HOST



# **Special Tribute to Civil Rights Movement** 50 Years Later Kenya King Actress, Singer and Writer

National Coalition on Black Civic Participation, Inc. Board of Directors

#### **CHAIRMAN**

Richard Womack, Sr. Public Member

#### **VICE CHAIRMAN**

Foster Stringer Public Member

#### **SECRETARY**

Elsie L. Scott, PhD Public Member Director, Ronald Walters Leadership Howard University

## **TREASURER**

Kevin Parker Managing Director Capitol Consulting Group, LLC

## **PRESIDENT & CEO**

Melanie L. Campbell Convener, Black Women's Roundtable

#### **LEGAL COUNSEL**

Derrick Humphries, Esq. Attorney-at-Law Humphries & Partners

# **CHAIR EMERITUS**

Eddie Williams Public Member

# **BOARD MEMBERS**

# Lezli Baskerville, PhD

President & CEO NAFEO

# **Diane Babineaux**

General Vice President International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers

## William Bates, Jr. Esq.,

Grand Polemarch Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

#### **Melvin Bazemore**

Public Member

#### **Diallo Brooks**

Public Member Black Youth Vote! Representative

#### Clayola Brown

President A. Philip Randolph Institute

**Michael Brown** Public Member

**Chaka Burgess** Director, Global Government Affairs Amgen

# **Larry Cohen**

President Communications Workers of America

#### Sharhonda Knott Dawson

**BYV** Representative Director, Chicago Coalition on Black Civic Participation

Executive Director National Conference of Black State Legislators

Curley Dossman Chairman 100 Black Men of America, Inc.

## **Ralph Everett**

President & CEO Joint Center for Political & **Economic Studies** 

## Arlene Holt-Baker

**Executive Vice President** AFL-CIO

#### **Suzanne Burks**

President The Burks Companies, Inc

#### **Gerald Hudson**

International Executive Vice President Service Employees International Union

## Dorothy Jackson, Esq.

Vice President American Gaming Association

## **Benjamin Todd Jealous**

President & CEO NAACP

#### Loretta Johnson, PhD

American Federation of Teachers

#### **Tanya Leah Lombard**

Assistant Vice President, Public Affairs AT&T

## **Reverend Joseph E. Lowery**

Public Member

## **Marc Morial**

National Urban League

# **Carlottia Scott**

Public Member

## **Reverend Al Sharpton**

Founder & President National Action Network

# Yvonne Scruggs-Leftwich, PhD

# **Ingrid Saunders Jones**

Chair of the Board National Council of Negro Women

**Debra J. Speed**Director - Public Policy and Strategic
Alliances Verizon Communications

## **Rebecca Pringle**

National Education Association

#### A. Shuanise Washington

President & CEO Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

#### **Robin Williams** Associate Directo

Human Rights & Community Action Department United Food and Commercial Workers International Union

# Vanessa Williams

Executive Director National Conference of Black Mayors

## **Advisory Board Member**

#### **Norman Hill**

President Emeritus A. Philip Randolph Institute



