The National Coalition on Black Civic Participation

Who We Are

Board of Directors



Thomas W. Dortch Jr., Chairman, 100 Black Men of America, Inc.


VICE CHAIRMAN Diane Babineaux, Public Member


SECRETARY, Elsie Scott, PhD, Public Member, Founding Director, Ronald Walters Leadership & Public Policy Center, Howard University


TREASURER, Hannibal Brumskine II, Certified Public Accountant


PRESIDENT & CEO, Melanie L. Campbell, National Convener, Black Women’s Roundtable


Legal Counsel

Derrick Humphries, Esq. Attorney-at-Law, Humphries & Partners


Sonia Jarvis, Esq., Distinguished Lecturer & Director of Center on Equality, Pluralism & Policy

Baruch College School of Public Affairs


IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR, Richard G. Womack, Sr., Public Member

Board Members

Thomas Battle, Grand Polemarch, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.


Appollos Baker, Legislative and Political Organizer, American Federation of Government Employees, AFL-CIO


Cora Masters Barry, Political Scientist & Strategist


Salandra Benton, Executive Director and State Convener, Florida Coalition on Black Civic Participation and Florida Black Women’s Roundtable


Diallo Brooks, Public Member


Clayola Brown, President, A. Philip Randolph Institute


Felicia Davis, Director, Building Green Initiative @ CAU, Convener, Clayton County Georgia Black Women’s Roundtable


Donna Epps, Vice President for Public Policy and Strategic Alliances, Verizon


Ralph Everett, Public Member


Dorothy Jackson, JD, Public Member


Derrick Johnson, President & CEO, NAACP


Lorretta Johnson, PhD,  (Retired) American Federation of Teachers


Dr. Avis Jones-DeWeever, Chief Executive Officer, The Exceptional Leadership Institute for Women


Reverend Tony Lee, Pastor, Community of Hope AME Church, Temple Hills MD, Convener, NCBCP Black Men & Boys Initiatives


Joe Leonard, PhD, Public Member


Tanya Leah Lombard, Vice President, Multicultural Engagement & Strategic Alliances, AT&T


Marc Morial,President & CEO, National Urban League


Elizabeth Powell, Secretary – Treasurer, American Postal Workers Union


Rebecca Pringle, Vice President, National Education Association


Yvonne Scruggs-Leftwich, PhD, Public Member


Reverend Al Sharpton, Founder & President, National Action Network


Hasan Solomon, Legislative Director, International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers


Debra J. Speed, Public Member


Foster Stringer, Public Member


Terrence (Terry) L. Melvin, President, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists


Open Seat, President & CEO, Congressional Black Caucus Foundation


Antonio Williams, Senior Director of Government & External Affairs, Comcast NBC Universal


Robin Williams,  (Retired) Vice President

United Food and Commercial Workers International Union

Advisory Members

Dwayne Crawford, Executive Director, National Organization of Black Law Enforcement


Norman Hill, President Emeritus, A. Philip Randolph Institute


Janaye Ingram, Director of National Partnerships, Airbnb


Ingrid Saunders Jones, Chair, National Council of Negro Women


William Lucy, Founding President Emeritus, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists


Spencer Overton, President & CEO, Joint Center for Political & Economic Studies

National Coalition on Black Civic Participation | 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW, 5th Floor - Suite 500, Washington, DC 20023, USA.

Phone: (202) 659-4929 |

© 2023 National Coalition on Black Civic Participation. All rights reserved. Powered by ARCOS | Design by PlusThree